Celebrating 120 Days

Celebrating 120 days of blogging

According to the New York Times and a survey published by Technorati, blogs have a higher failure rate than restaurants. Yes, you read that correctly. I would have a better shot at succeeding if I started a sandwich shop down the street. Technorati’s survey (now fairly dated) found that 95% of blogs are abandoned after 120 days.

That is the negative news. The positive news? I am the 5%.

This blog has been active since January 12, 2015. We are past the 120 days mark. I just celebrated that by eating a piece of really amazing chocolate cake. What have I learned so far?

When you are nervous about something, rip the Band-Aid off and just start. I had been brainstorming about starting a blog for several years. I messed around on Blogger for a few months, but wasn’t able to find a good rhythm. As I posted about earlier this year, when I decided to try again with WordPress I didn’t give myself time to agonize over the details. I jumped in and I will refine as I go. I was also really nervous about finally posting the link to Facebook and inviting my peers to read it. Now I know that I didn’t need to be. Which leads me to my next lesson…

Most people will be very supportive, and everyone else will keep quiet. I have been overwhelmed by the support I’ve received from friends and family. Former colleagues, high school classmates, and friends have all read posts and given me a little boost to keep going. And just as exciting, when I have reached out to other bloggers and published authors, they have very gracious in their responses. So far, the negative voices of the world have kept pretty quiet. I know that this will not always be the case, so I am saving another piece of chocolate cake for when I get my first nasty comment or mean tweet. That’s when I’ll know I’ve made it.

Authenticity garners the best results. To date, my most popular posts have been:

  1. The Benefits of Launching Imperfectly
  2. How to Makeover Your Mornings Without Adding Stress
  3. The Key to Surviving the Worst Day Ever

In the Morning Makeover and the Worst Day Ever posts, I reference published authors who were kind enough to tweet and/or retweet links to their own followers. As you can imagine, that helped to expand my reach exponentially. But I still remind myself that they wouldn’t have shared the posts if they hated them, so I must be doing something right. The Benefits of Launching Imperfectly did not have a “celebrity endorsement,” but it is still the most popular post on the blog. I like to think that means it resonated.

What does this teach me? Authenticity wins. While I absolutely want to share great resources with you, you want to hear what I have to say too. I can do that!

Without question, my personal favorite post so far is The Key to Surviving the Worst Day Ever. In case you are wondering, I did look up to see if @ballerproblems was taken on Twitter (it is) and to see if a baller problems blog already exists (it does). However, @99ballerproblems is still available… baller problems

2 thoughts on “Celebrating 120 Days

Leave a Comment

